I’m no expert.

“Oh that’s a baby baby!” the stranger said in the parking lot. He was walking by the car with his kids in tow as I pulled Felix out of his car seat,
“How old?” he asked.
“three weeks,” I replied.
“Is he your first?”
“My second.”
“Oh, you’re an expert, then!” The whole exchange took place in the few seconds that passed as he walked by my car, but his parting remark stung just a bit.
No. I’m no expert. My first baby died. I should be an expert but I’m not.
I’m realizing that there may be few interactions involving my son that will be without the subtext of Mabel.

How has your loss pervaded common interactions in everyday life?

2 thoughts on “I’m no expert.

  1. I’ve encountered very similar situations quite a few times since Aimé was born. It’s weird to me how people just assume all has been well with my first baby, like in the situation you describe. I suppose it’s normal but it’s so at removed from my experience that I always expect some follow-up questions “so where is he now?”…
    I hope you and Felix are doing good.

Leave a Reply

