Not your typical Father’s Day….

*SENSITIVE*

I thought I knew what I was going to post here last sunday.  Father’s day- an important day in our house.  Chris did such a good job with Mother’s Day, that I wanted to make sure his Father’s day would be just as good.  He woke up to several presents.  Muppet gave him a card and a treat stick so that her favorite dad could keep giving her treats (she’s such a puppy!).

IMG_7340

The pea (our nickname for the little one on the inside) gave him Jimmy Fallon’s book “Your first word will be dada.”

IMG_7342

And Mabel and I gave him a massage gift certificate, as a reward for his 100 mi Best Buddies bike ride and half iron man done recently.

IMG_7345

We then went on to run a local road race.  We ran it last year, and in many of the years previously.  It’s a fun run, 5miles, passing along the water in Connecticut, with lots of onlookers and cheerleaders, ending in a festival.  And running a race this far pregnant was awesome- so much enthusiasm and cheering from the crowd.

At one point a woman cheered us on from her balcony and I looked up and smiled.  A moment later she said “Hi Mabel!”  I did a double take- confused, wondering if I knew this woman.  Then I realized she was talking to the people across the street with their dog.  I stopped and asked the people if their dog was named Mabel.

“Yes! How do you know Mabel?” they asked me.

“I don’t.  Mabel was my daughter’s name,” I replied as I pat their dog and then moved on.

Chris finished in about 45 minutes and I chugged a long in a jog/walk pace, finishing in about 75 minutes.  I’ll have you know, at 36weeks and 6days, I was not the last one to finish!  I finished 1439 out of 1460 :).

11650680_10206984945003417_293728910_n11655502_10206984945043418_982260041_n11650453_10206984945083419_944054060_n

Of note, I had discussed this race with my midwives beforehand and got clearance to do it if I stayed hydrated- note the water bottle in hand.

 

Chris and I post-race selfie

Chris and I post-race selfie

I was a little inspired by the woman who ran a marathon at 39 weeks a few years ago and then went into labor- half joking that maybe it’ll do it for me (half joking because I was far from ready for labor and a baby- lots more logistical and emotional work to do beforehand).

We spent the rest of the day doing errands and house things.  I was somewhat limited because of the extreme soreness I had doing all that jogging (still with the pubic bone pain this time around).  I was having some mild pressure contractions- not painful- like I had had a week before, though I thought nothing of it because I figured I was still a little dehydrated from the race and they weren’t painful.  After a dinner of Chicago pizza (literally from Chicago- a gift from Chris I had been saving.  Deep dish Giordano’s pizza shipped frozen for my birthday) and an hour or two of tv we went to bed and I fell asleep.

Then this happened:

http://www.myrecordjournal.com/news/latestnews/7424113-129/cheshire-mother-delivers-baby-unexpectedly-at-home.html

At some point I’ll take a minute to write down the whole birth story in my own words.  It was so fast, I’m still processing it all.  I am extremely grateful that all turned out well.

So I’d like to take a moment to introduce:

Felix Odom Constantino
Born 6/22/25 at 2am
At home, on the toilet, into the hands of his mother! (By accident after a VERY fast labor)

7lbs 3oz, 20inches

IMG_7351 IMG_7353 IMG_7356

 

 

 

36 thoughts on “Not your typical Father’s Day….

  1. Somehow the article showed up on my husband’s FB page from a friend of a friend once it was published, and i screamed in excitement!!!! What a story!!! Congratulations on little Felix, what a triumphant arrival!! And go mama for finishing that race!!! See you when you return! ❤

  2. Congratulations, and what a story! I’m getting weepy on your behalf — so glad you and Felix were safe and healthy and that everything is going well so far!

  3. Congrats to you and your family! I saw this article, didn’t read it, but thought “What a brave Mama!” So happy for you!

  4. Oh my goodness! What a crazy, beautiful story. One you will sure remember. So happy for you and your family. I’m sure Mabel is a very proud big sister. Felix is a lucky little boy to have such a loving family! Best wishes.

  5. Congrats!! A little Angel is watching you and Felix (and Chris too) from Heaven. Blessings abound, the first birth you attend after Mabel is your own….amazing!

  6. Oh, Meghan! My heart just jumped with joy reading your post. Many congratulations on your growing family!

  7. Congratulations!

    Felix would be the first baby you caught since Mabel was born, no?

    What an honor, a moment, etc.

    Wow!

    Many, many congratulations to all!

  8. Congratulations!!!! (I can’t figure out how to send you a private email–can you respond to me if I can?)

  9. WOW what a surprise!! I think I literally gasped when I got to the bottom. CONGRATS! SO happy for you, what a beautiful boy.

  10. What an amazing story! Congratulations!!

    I am so happy for you and your little family.

    And you delivered a baby!!!

  11. Omg, congratulations! Just checked your site after and saw the awesome news. What a birth story. So happy for you and your family. And yes, you do have a beautiful angel watching over you all.

  12. I am absolutely thrilled for you, and I love the picture of you holding Felix (you both look beautiful). Congratulations–I’m sure that you must be going through a weather-storm of emotions, but I hope that joy and love are winning (don’t be afraid/guilty to feel whatever you are feeling, though, and reach out to those around you if and when needed). You are already an amazing mother–and I’m just so happy for you and Chris. And Mabel has a brother! Yay!

  13. Congratulations!!!! Many blessings to your family on the birth of Felix! I can’t wait for you to add a little pea charm to your Mabel carrot necklace. 🙂 You’re having a lovely garden of a family.

  14. So Wow! Congratulations! The only thing I was wondering is what are you going to do for next Father’s Day…this was an awfully good gift 😉 even if it was a bit late. Meghan I am so happy for your and Chris and I would like to welcome Felix into the world. I am excited for you to teach him all about his sister. Please know that whenever I find/see little carrots I think of Mabel.
    God Bless!

Leave a Reply

