Sunday Synopsis

Brides are now donating their wedding gowns to an amazing cause–  At the end of my pregnancy, I remember looking online for a baby burial outfit- just in case.  Not much out there.  The closest I could find were christening outfits- but they were gender specific and we didn’t know if we were having a boy or a girl.  I also worried they would be far too big for the small baby I was expecting.  I eventually stumbled across the perfect outfit which came just in time before we had to bury our little one.  It’s hard enough to have to even consider buying a burial outfit that small, so it’s heartwarming to hear that some people are trying to make that terribly sad and taboo task a bit easier.

NILMDTS photographers camera stolen-  Remember this?  Camera card returned to the news station!  expensive camera equipment weren’t but the memories were so gratefully returned to the bereaved parents.  there’s even a fund started to help replace the photographers equipment.

These photos show what women really look like after pregnancy  *TRIGGER WARNING* this has moms with babies in it.  I post it because I still get so upset even seeing this headline. I feel like the moral of the photo story is- it’s all worth it because, look, we have these beautiful babies to show for it.  The 4th trimester.  What about us?  We are not even underrepresented- we are passed over entirely.  It angers and saddens me.

Bridging the gap between the baby bereaved and those who love them–  I stumbled across this at such an opportune time.  It touches on something I’ve recently been trying to work on- rebuilding some lost relationships since my daughter died.  It’s not easy because I had built up walls.  I like how this article makes it a two way street- we are often quick to blame others for not understanding, not reaching out.  But we also play a role. In the time leading up to ThanksgivingI was dreading some face to face time with a baby around Mabel’s age.  Her mother reached out to me a few days beforehand, recognizing how the holiday might be hard for me and asking if there was anything she could do to make it easier.  It was such a gift- to be asked directly.  I was able to answer honestly about my concerns regarding seeing the baby and give warning about my unpredictable reactions.  It was SO much easier to be asked than to volunteer the info.

Meet the first model with Down Syndrome to walk at New York Fashion week.-  Love this!  It’s great to see more positive images of people with Down Syndrome in the media.

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Sunday Synopsis

  1. What is so crazy is that the photographer (in the article you mention about after-birth bodies) actually lost one of her twins. A Chicago Tribune article I read today spoke about the premature birth of her twins, at 24 weeks I think, mentioning names, etc. – and that one of them died (I can’t remember his/her name and the site seems to want to charge me to read the article). So, maybe she has and is including mothers whose child(ren) died, and has simply not mentioned it in interviews. Or, maybe she has truly missed the opportunity to include the baby loss community and to bring awareness…?

  2. I can’t remember if i’ve already commented here about the 4th trimester project… I follow it on tumblr and they post fairly regularly photos of babyloss moms. I think the fact that these images do not appear in articles about the project says more about the media outlets covering it than about the project itself…
    Just yesterday i saw this one (http://4thtrimesterbodiesproject.tumblr.com/post/111622760748/the-amazing-alexa-bigwarfe-with-her-son-braedan) but i’ve also come across a few of mothers who did not have living children…

Leave a Reply

