Sunday Synopsis

*potential tirgger* The nationwide superbowl commercial. I watched the superbowl over the internet where the commericals were different, so I didnt see this ad until I started reading about it on my facebook and blog feed.  I wonder how I would have felt if it suddenly came on, instead of having much preparation and nowing what I was about to watch.  There has been lots of talk about it- how it was a buzzkill, how it was a trigger and how it was validating, depending on the audience watching.  I’ve read a few good posts about it and here are some that resonate with me. This one and this one i thought were both good reads.

The saddest story Roald Dahl ever wrote.  I had no idea Roald Dahl was one of us, having experienced child loss.  This story came up in the midst of a rampant measles outbreak – and though I am strongly pro-vaccination, I am not intending to post this to start a conversation about vaccination.  Instead I post as one of those eye openign reads, where I realized our club is bigger than we know.  I have been reading (in warmer weather) The BFG by Roald Dahl (one of my favorite childhood books) to Mabel when I visit her grave, so learning of his loss seemed especially poignant.

Family begs for camera stolen with first and final moments of baby’s life-   Oh gosh, could you imagine? Some of us weren’t fortunate enough to get photos at all, and those of us who did (whether our own, hospital ones or professional ones) I’m sure could imagine what it would be like losing them.  I’ve actually thought about- what if our house goes up in flames- what would I save? Literally the first thing would be either my camera (with her photos still on it- I cant seem to erase them despite having downloaded them all) or her book and box.

Why your doctor is always late– I find this a fascinatingly accurate depiction of what my day is like.  For example, on friday I saw 26 patients. Whew!  I don’t have control over my schedule- dictating how long I get with each patient. I am a firm believer of giving each patient the time they need (within reason).  I also have a 15 minute rule- allowing pts some wiggle room to be late, but having them reschedule if they are beyond 15 min out of respect to my other pts.  Some pts need to be seen regardless (certain prenatals) and if they’re super late, I ask them to wait and I’ll work them in.  The take home message for this (for me, at least) is: I’m sooo sorry I’m running late- the reason I am is usually either because I’m trying to give good care, there was an emergency or because I had a pt late. I know from a pt perspective  it’s super frustrating to wait and I respect that.  It’s also super frustrating to us to be running late for your sake.  We are all frustrated with the system.

The story of the dad who accepts their baby with Down Syndrome, while the mom supposedly rejects him.  First read this article.  Then read the counter one.  I’m not sure what the whole story is, but what seems to be true is that this couple had a baby who was given the diagnosis of Down Syndrome at birth and it caused a bit of a rift between the couple.  Armenia doesn’t have good support (socially or structurally) for children with Down Syndrome.  I want to villify the mom and make the dad the hero, but I can’t totally commit to it because it’s very hard to get that diagnosis at birth, especially in a country that is not accepting.  If the story hadnt gone viral, would the couple have worked things out?  Who knows.  But I do appreciate how it is in a way giving positive attention to children with Down Syndrome.

6 thoughts on “Sunday Synopsis

  1. I had been wondering what your thoughts were re the story from Armenia. It’s so hard to know what really happened… And so frustrating that this guy’s ability to meet his child’s needs ended up being fulfilled by a story that demonizes the mother, at a time when who knows what she’s been through and how much she’s even been able to process! I agree it’s good that it’s bringing positive attention to Down Syndrome, though — as well as renewed attention to the childrens’ institutions in that part of the world. I’m also so jealous that he gets to bring his baby home…

    Thanks for sharing re: Roald Dahl! I looked the family up after reading that article, and found a fascinating piece by Olivia’s younger sister Tessa, about how the whole ordeal impacted her – she also had early-onset PTSD from watching her infant brother be hit by a car and watching her mother have a stroke. Her father ended up taking his grief about all those events out on her, and meanwhile she wasn’t supported in experiencing her own grief as a child so she had to sort it all out later as an adult. Super fascinating…

    ❤ ❤ ❤ thinking about you and Mabel so much this upcoming week.

    • Chris thinks it’s teaching her bad english 🙂 but I love it. Poor girl, we’ve been on reading hiatus in the cold weather, but she’s got something to look forward to for the spring.

  2. I had heard about Dahl – and then we were watching “Sons of Liberty” last night and of course, I had to look everything up to see how historical accurate it is (not very), and learned that four of his six children died before the age of three (and his wife died giving birth to his last child, who was stillborn). Yikes. Knowing the high infant and childhood mortality rate of the past sometimes helps me feel more connected to a special “tribe” of women.

Leave a Reply

