How Pregnancy Announcements Feel as a Bereaved Mother

I’m 11 months out from the Mabel’s death and I still feel the same way when I see pregnancy announcements. For those who are not among the babylost, it might be hard to read, but for me, the words ring true. As time passes, my inner voice softens a bit.

Mothering Caroline Grace

As the mother of a beautiful, sweet, wanted daughter who left this world too soon, I struggle with hearing that friends and family are pregnant.  Instead of hearing that they are expecting and beginning to glow with happiness, I hear:

“My perfect little life continues to be perfect.  Just wanted to shove that in your face while you grieve.”

“I know that your hopes and dreams for your daughter were shattered, but I wanted to let you know that my hopes and dreams for my child are very much intact!”

“My baby is still alive and yours isn’t.  Just thought I’d let you know.”

Each announcement is a stab in the heart and leads to an hour of crying in bed, holding one of Caroline’s stuffed animals tightly in my arms.  I feel really bad about reacting this way.  I’m really not the jealous type.  I want to be genuinely…

View original post 242 more words

Leave a Reply

