My trail for tears

Our town has a paved walking path, an old railroad track converted into public space. It traverses two other towns right into the nearest city. Walkers, joggers, recreational bikers, dog walkers are common visitors to this path. The trail has become a place of meaning for me. In those first days and weeks after Mabel died, I needed to get out of the house. I needed a little break from the constant and usually comforting presence of family and I needed to see some space outside my bedroom. It was February, the heart of a snowy winter when my baby died, so getting out of the house was not always a simple task. In my suburb, one known for it’s sprawling spaces, it’s orchards and it’s country feel, there are not many sidewalks. The town does plow part of the trail, though. So everyday Chris and I would bundle up and head to the path to go for a walk. At first my pace was slow. I had difficulty with my pelvis during pregnancy- some symphasis pubis dysfunction that interfered with my running- and after childbirth, my pubic bone was very angry. Even the simple act of walking sent pain through my bone. But it was important for me to walk, to exercise, to get outdoors.

path

After Chris went back to work, I often met friends at that path. My pace picked up as the physical healing began, but it was often still painful during those walks. My friends listened to me as I spilled out all my sad and angry thoughts- about the past, the present and the future. They held my hand as women passed by with strollers and baby carriages. I even saw a woman walking with her son who had Down Syndrome. Reminders of what I had lost.

But I continued walking. I eventually was able to jog a little even- something I have since given up, the pelvic recovery too frustrating.

I took Muppet for a walk on the trail for the first time. We have often kept her from dog friendly places for the past two months as we got her updated on her vaccines. But getting the most recent round, I felt more confident about taking her to the path.

IMG_5627

It was a cold day- winter has crept in early here in New England- and I donned a warm jacket, a hat and mittens for the excursion. The path was relatively deserted, save for a few runners and an occasional dog walked like myself. I had walked this path last winter, when it was barren and surrounded by snow, and watched as it transformed into greenery and wildlife reemerged over the spring and summer. On this day, the leaves were brown and mostly fallen from the tree branches, a cold nip in the air. As I walked Muppet the first leg of the path, I couldn’t help but be reminded of those early days and what this trail has meant for me. So many tears I shed here.

Are there certain places that remind you of your grief?

IMG_5626

3 thoughts on “My trail for tears

  1. Such a beautiful trail and beautiful pictures! I think nature is something that calls us all in those months of grief. For us, it was the Morton Arboretum in Chicago – the closest you can get to nature here in Chicago! The day after I was cleared to exercise fully again, we went cross-country skiing there; we returned to see the first spring robins and then for the glass pumpkin festival in early fall, where I ate a caramel apple just like last year when I was pregnant with Ander. We are returning again in early December for the Memory walk, where a luminary with his name on it will grace the Tribute Path.

    • My son is buried in Naperville! I spent a few weeks there after his funeral in March. At that time I wasn’t able to walk, but we drove through the Arboretum a few times. I’m planning to be back there next February to place his gravestone. I hope to visit the Arboretum again while I’m there.

      • and my husband is from Naperville! Last time I was there (this time last year, in fact) we went to the arboretum. It was a good time (a time whenI thought my baby would still live!) Love that Sacha, Ander and Mabel all have a memory there!

Leave a Reply

