An early Thanksgiving

We are told that finding things to be grateful helps us move through our grief. I’ve experimented with this- practicing it while I was still pregnant (being grateful for merely having the experience of pregnancy, even though my baby would likely die) and after my baby died, by taking two weeks and recognizing publicly three things each day that were good. Here is a post by another babyloss mom who frankly had a pretty crappy day. Most things are not specifically related to loss, but when I have a crappy day, I often think “if I had a baby, I wouldn’t care so much.” So when one of my fellow babyloss moms was abel to put her crummy day in perspective, I was impressed and inspired.

baby boy blue

Since yesterday afternoon, pretty much everything that could go wrong, has. Yet for some reason, while I was all teary about it yesterday, I truly woke up in a better frame of mind today. I’m not sure why, but I’m calling it my early Thanksgiving.

First, I got my period. It was three days late, so I had started to get really hopeful that I was pregnant. No luck.

But… at least I don’t have cramps or pain, the period seems normal, and the fact that it’s late means we will be home from our Thanksgiving travels and therefore won’t miss the next IUI cycle. Plus, a friend of mine is around a month pregnant. At first, I was bummed that I wouldn’t be pregnant with her, but then I remembered: I’m being induced a month early next time! We could still give birth at the same time! Some…

View original post 861 more words

2 thoughts on “An early Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

