Mabel goes to the beach

Being new to blogging, I’m still learning the etiquette of the inter-blog world. I’ve been following Baby Boy Blue’s blog for the past few months. I had been drawn to reading it because she was about my age, had similar views and a month ahead of me in the grieving process. She had a neonatal loss like me, though under very different circumstances. I knew from reading that she lived in Chicago and one day posted something about having family in Connecticut. So I took a chance and wrote my first blogger to blogger email.

 

I hope it’s not creepy that I’m contacting you like this.  I just have really been comforted by reading your blog.  So many times I’ve read some of your words and just thought YES!  you’re reading my mind.  

 and then last night you and your partner were totally in my dream- I know it’s weird, I have no idea what you guys look like, but apparently my mind just makes it up.  I’m a very vivid dreamer.  and in the dream you were doing a walk.  like how you wrote about today- the march of dimes.  weird weird coincidence. 

 and then I realized to day while reading, you live in the chicago area and have family in the new haven area.  I live in the new haven area and have family in the chicago area.  if ever we be in the same place at the same time, maybe we can meet in person and I wont have dreams making up what you look like. 

 I promise I’m not usually such a weird weirdo.  I dont know how to make blog friends and so maybe I’m just breaking all the etiquette rules.  just wanted to say hi and keep writing!

 

I was so nervous writing it, looking like a creeper. But the risk paid off. We have blossomed into great pen pals! And then she was making a trip back to her home town- the same town I used to live in just a year ago. Sadly, she arrived the day after I left for my family trip, so we just missed each other. She emailed me saying she was eating at my favorite local ice cream place there and I told her I eaten there too, but twenty-four hours before!

When I got home from the trip she sent me an email checking in and sent theses photos.

Mabel 3 Mabel 1 Ander and Mabel

Her son Ander and my Mabel were cavorting on the local beach there together.

Some people are just so cool.

 

 

13 thoughts on “Mabel goes to the beach

  1. I read both of you, although my situation is once again different, and I’m about 1.5 years in front of you both, in terms of the grief journey, I’m also (I think) about 10 years younger, and on the other side of the world, but everything I read is so familiar. How amazingly awesome that you have found each other!! X

    • All it takes is just sharing one simple thing- babyloss- no matter the circumstances and viola! suddenly there are lots in common. I’m sorry you’re on this journey with us, though I’m always grateful to see people ahead of me surviving, to know i will and can too.

  2. You are too sweet! But I’m glad you liked the pictures :). I hope it’s fairly obvious that the exclamation point is a carrot – I’m not quite the artist that Carly Marie is! And of course, that’s Charles Island in the background. I’m bummed we missed each other by a day, but it was nice to think of you and Mabel while I was enjoying my Twix ice cream in a waffle cone made to order…. And so many kudos to you for having the guts to reach out to me, even though you thought it made you seem like a weirdo creeper (it didn’t). I so appreciate everyone I’ve met through this. It reminds me that despite the circumstances that brought us together, there are things to be thankful for. So thank you for being you :).

    • No you’re too sweet! I have a feeling we could go back and forth all day like that. First, totally looks like a carrot (though maybe I think everything looks like a carrot? Even acorns?😀). Second I had the cupcake one- chocolate cake batter ice cream with pieces of cupcake from the new place next door! Delish. Next time, if it’s open, we’ll check out the lazy lobster!

Leave a Reply

