Happy birthday to me!

Today is my birthday!   I’ve always been a big fan of birthdays.  I come from a family of birthday-celebrators.  I help run a small non-profit that brings birthdays to kids in need.  My career literally is centered around making birth-days.  I even like to catch babies on my birthday, because every time I do it’s like double the celebration.  Happy birthday to us!  Birthdays are kind of a big deal.

 

Every year I usually go all out and have myself a party- a theme party, with costumes and prizes.  Themes of recent years: Bowties & Moustaches, Mad Hatter, Pizza & Chocolate, Cowboys vs Ninjas.  I mean business.  This year’s theme: 34.  I’m 34+ weeks pregnant on my 34th birthday!   And still pregnant, at that.  Baby is still doing well (“embarrassingly well” in the words of one of my midwives).  I’m especially happy because, though I’m anxiously anticipating baby’s birthday- I didn’t want it to be today.  Soley because it’s too early.  I want this baby born at 37+ weeks, not 34+.  And so it is (at least for now).

 

My parents came down and joined my in the hospital for the day and Chris worked from home (aka the hospital), so he was around too.  We had lots of visitors, ate, played games, ate, opened presents, ate, talked to family on the phone and ATE.  Overall a success!  I even got a quick break from monitoring and visited my friends on the labor floor.

 

But I think today is better told in photos- so here it goes:

 

Upon my request, my midwife colleague brought me seltzer (a pregnancy craving).  Not the typical seltzer.  While out last night at a local bar restaurant, she asked the bartender to fill her empty ice tea bottle with some seltzer and limes- and viola! instant birthday present!

Upon my request, my midwife colleague brought me seltzer (a pregnancy craving). Not your typical seltzer. While out last night at a local bar restaurant, she asked the bartender to fill her empty ice tea bottle with some seltzer and limes- and viola! instant birthday present!

The same midwife gave me "Array," a card game mashup between dominoes and uno.  Fun!  WIll definitely play again.

The same midwife gave me “Array,” a card game mashup between dominoes and uno. Fun! WIll definitely play again.

Pizza Party! From the famous Frank Pepe's (as insisted by my dad)

Pizza Party! From the famous Frank Pepe’s (as insisted by my dad)

Literally, pizza party- me, chris, my parents and my cousin and her husband all crammed into my room.

Literally, pizza party- me, chris, my parents and my cousin and her husband all crammed into my room.

Yum.

Yum.

Ice cream cake!  (not shown: a cannoli cake brought by one of the docs I work with earlier that day, chocolate covered strawberries and cake pops from some old elementary school friends, six choloate bars from the seltzer-midwife and cupcakes from a grad school friend.  I'm telling you, we ATE)

Ice cream cake! (not shown: a cannoli cake brought by one of the docs I work with, chocolate covered strawberries and cake pops from some old elementary school friends, six chocolate bars from the seltzer-midwife and cupcakes from a grad school friend. I’m telling you, we ATE)

Gift from Chris- my very own medicine ball!  Plus new work out shoes, fun exercise clothes and crochet supplies.  He was worried that it might seem like he was sending the wrong message- giving your wife exercise stufff- but he's been listening to me .  I've been talking about how these were all things i wanted!  Look out- I might just have to do a few ball slams.

Gift from Chris- my very own medicine ball! Plus new work out shoes, fun exercise clothes and crochet supplies. He was worried that it might seem like he was sending the wrong message- giving your wife exercise stufff- but he’s been listening to me . I’ve been talking about how these were all things i wanted! Look out- I might just have to do a few ball slams.

 

I had so many well wishes via phone calls, texts, facebook messages and in person visits.  So much thanks to all of you for helping make this “unique” birthday a good one.

2 thoughts on “Happy birthday to me!

  1. Glad it was a great “unique” birthday.

    Kathleen Flattery Abrams Interior Designer McKenzie Baker Interiors 910.231.1959

    >

  2. Happy (belated) birthday! I am so glad that amid being admitted to the hospital and overall concerns for your little one you were able to take the time to truly celebrate your birthday. And with friends, family, coworkers, and awesome food!

    It can be so good to clear your mind and take a step back sometimes.

Leave a Reply

